French Au Pair Required For Great Brisbane Family

at Kelly in Coorparoo,  Brisbane

  • Suburb: Coorparoo
  • Published 25th January 2017
  • Viewed 540 times
  • 10  applicants

Job Description

Hi, we are a family of 4 - Angela 35, Chris 45, Annika 6 and Mitchell 4.5. Angela, Annika and Mitchell are bilingual French /English. We are searching for an au pair to live with us and help continue the kids' language education through play and fun.

The au pair will be expected to help out Monday - Friday in the mornings (7am - 9am) and then in the afternoons (Monday, Tuesday and every second Wednesday,2.45pm - 7.30pm, Thursdays 3.30-7.30pm). Fridays I also ask that you take Mitchell all day so that I can get things done so you will work 7am - 7.30pm on Fridays. Otherwise, you will be free, so you can take another job in the area.

Your job responsibilities will be:

In the mornings -
- make the kids breakfast
- clean up the kitchen
- help them get ready for school / kindly
- on occasion, help walk them to school/ kindy

In the afternoons -
- help collect the children from school
- help prepare le gouter
- prepare fun games / activities for them to do
- entertain them and keep them active until dinner
- help with bath and dinner
- clean up the kitchen after dinner

On Fridays, you will have free time with Mitchell all day so it would be nice to plan an outing - to Southbank, the museum, the park etc. If you have time during the afternoons, it would be nice if you could help with the washing, ironing etc.

On the weekends you will be free.

I don't work but I am trying to get a few projects done this year now that Annika is at school every day and Mitchell is at kindy 5 days/fortnight. I ask that you only speak 100% French with the children - they understand perfectly and will eventually start responding in French if you persevere. It's very, very important to me that they understand the language and are comfortable speaking it. We spent 3 months in Annecy last year with Annika in school and the kids started speaking very well during this time. It is a challenge to continue their bilingualism here in Australia with 2 Australian parents but i'm determined to make it happen.

Please only get in touch if you have the following attributes:

- Accepting and non-judgmental
- Hardworking and willing to help make my life easier
- Determined to persevere and tolerant of kids who are not 100% 'easy' (Annika can be incredibly challenging)
- Genuinely interested in becoming part of an Australian family - knowing that there will be good times as well as bad)
- willing to commit to at least 6 months (it's simply too disruptive to the kids to keep changing au pairs too frequently).


We have had au pairs now since the children were babies and overall, it has been an incredibly rewarding experience. The kids understand the French language 99% and I want this to continue. Their comprehension and ability to speak has dropped a lot this last year but I'm desperate for it to improve again. I honestly believe the best way to make this happen is by having someone live with us so they hear the language informally and absorb it that way. For sure you can 'teach' them by making them repeat words, speak sentences etc but it's best for their development if this can be incorporated as part of their playtime, rather than a separate 'lesson'. Annika in particular does not like structure or routine so will really just want someone to play with and be like a big sister.

You will have your own room in our house, with your own bathroom, unlimited wifi, all meals provided and $200/week pay.


This is an incredibly rewarding and satisfying role for the right person. But you must be the right person. Please don't bother applying if you don't enjoy children, or cannot stand the ups and downs of family life. Annika is a very challenging personality with a lot of sensory issues and underlying anxiety but we are doing our best to manage her and help her develop into a confident and capable young woman. We ask for your tolerance and assistance in this process, and we genuinely look forward to meeting a new person to live with us and become part of our family and our children's lives. I think an au pair has the ability to really change a family's life and for that, I am very optimistic that we will find the right person.

Thank you for reading. Please don't hesitate to get in touch if you think you could be right for our position. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Regards, Angela xxxxx

Backpacker Exchange

Buy Stuff Sell Stuff

Apply Now

Please fill out the form below in full to apply for this job vacancy. Do not share any personal information (ie. passport, visa etc).Read our article first for some friendly advice on how best to stay safe when applying for jobs online.

Max. 3 MB. Recommended formats: PDF, RTF, DOC, ODT.

In applying for this vacancy, you agree to our terms and conditions, privacy policy and have read our safety guidelines.