Big Sister/au Pair

at Kynoch Family in Toowoomba,  Queensland


Job Description

Position available February 2019

Mum, Dad, girl, boy + dog (very large but very friendly). We love to eat healthy fresh food, enjoy spending time with family and friends and travelling.

We are looking for a big sister for our 3 year old daughter, Winnie, and 1 year old Teddie.

We are a small but busy family looking for some extra help so that we can spend more quality time together. We are an experienced host family and have hosted two girls from Germany and one from USA.

We have a busy work life and love to spend our free time travelling locally and overseas. Where possible, you will be invited to travel with us and have taken previous au pairs to Noosa, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Byron Bay and Sydney.

Our ‘normal day’ looks something like this – we eat breakfast together before I go to work and two days per week Winnie goes to kindy. Dad (mick) works from home. In the afternoon we try to go for a walk or to the park. We then cook dinner together. You will find very little processed food at our house so if you do not like lots of fruit and vegetables (or are a fussy eater) then our house may not be for you! We are not vegetarian but are vegetarian friendly.

We live in Toowoomba which is a large regional town 1.5 hour car drive from Brisbane. It is a quiet town and activities include bush walking, cinemas, sports and we have a great café culture. Our house is a 15 minute walk to the town centre.

You will have a genuine love of children and enjoy playing and interacting with them. You will also want to interact with us as part of our family. This position is not for someone who would consider it ‘work’.

We are looking for someone who is active and takes the children outside, to the park, paints and crafts and cooks. Our children love to play with you.

You will care for our son 5 days per week and daughter 3 days. Our days are busy and schedules change from day to day and week to week. So we are looking for someone who is flexible, willing to help out and use their initiative. We want you to be involved with out family which includes eating together and also helping out with general duties (such as packing/unpacking dishwasher). You will not be expected to cook dinner but you will need to prepare lunch and snacks for Win and Ted.

You will have your own room with queen bed and smart TV. Your large bathroom with bath is shared with children and guests. Access to computer, internet and all mod-cons. We will supply you with a phone and spending money for the children. You will also receive pocket money. With the ability to earn extra money if you would like to take on more house hold duties or if you do extra baby sitting as required.

References available.

Backpacker Exchange

Buy Stuff Sell Stuff

Apply Now

Max. 3 MB. Recommended formats: PDF, RTF, DOC, ODT.

In applying for this vacancy, you agree to our terms and conditions & privacy policy.

  • Do not send personal documents (ie. passport, visa, other ID)
  • Do not send upfront payments in exchange for work
  • Read our safety tips
  • Be safe!