Register or Login to Apply

Family Horse Property - Live In Help

Summervale Plainland, Brisbane

Job Description

Are you looking for an Australian country experience? Experience the Lockyer Valley while staying in a spacious Queenslander with all the comforts you need. Beats a hostel any day!

We need 2 backpackers travelling together for 1 to 2 weeks to work on a family horse property (there is potential to stay longer for the right applicants).

We are looking for some helping hands to get our property ready for summer. We live in a 5 bedroom Queenslander 45 mins from Brisbane and 40 mins from Ipswich. We have a 30 acre property which houses 7 horses, 2 chickens, 2 cats and a 1-year-old Kelpie.

After recent rainfall and storms, we have seen some massive growth in plant life and have many branches/trees down. We need help tidying this up ready for the peak of summer, and of course, Christmas.

Work will include, but will not be limited to:

- Weeding
- Whipper Snipping
- Hedge Trimming
- Raking
- Moving Fallen Branches
- Weed Killing
- Fencing
- House Cleaning
- Puppy Sitting (occasionally)
- Poo Picking (horse poo, obviously lol)

For just 4 hours of work every morning you will get a large double bedroom, wifi, private bathroom, access to a large kitchen and games room with DVDs, PlayStation, Wii, Pool Table and Air Hockey all for your use. After the 4 hours in the mornings, you are free to go and explore the beautiful Lockyer Valley.

We are happy to give you lists of things to see and do in the area. There are many amazing country drives with country towns and sites along the way (the Cobb and Co tourist drive being one). You also have Wivenhoe Dam, Lake Apex and a never-ending list of National Parks to explore. We are also happy for you to work at other places while here to get cash. We offer work in exchange for accommodation and wifi only - no food, pay or visa sign off is included. This is a woofing position, we work on an energy exchange basis only.

While on our property there is the opportunity to work with our horses for the right person - If you have horse experience you are welcome to groom and we can maybe throw in a riding lesson or two. However, horse experience is not required to apply :)

It is essential that you are comfortable around animals as we have a lot of them, and our horses free roam. Jasper our Kelpie is excitable and in training still, so you will have to be comfortable with a young and excitable dog.

You will need your own transport for this position as we are off the Warrego Hwy and public transport is not easily accessible to get around.

Please do not apply if you are looking for visa sign off - the work we require does not qualify.

  This job vacancy was been posted over 40 days ago, but is still active and currently accepting new applications.

Login or Register to Apply Online

Not already a member? Register for free and create your online resume to apply. If you are already registered or have applied for a vacancy before, you can login below.


Member since: March 2018

Family property with horses, cats, dog and chickens.
Large Queenslander home with ample space on 30 acres

Farming, Animals & Conservation