Register or Login to Apply

Au Pair

OMeley- Le Saint BRANDY HILL NSW, Newcastle

Job Description

  • AU PAIR WANTED****
    From end of June for a minimum of 4 months.

We are a French/ Australian family of 4. The dad works long hours during the week but has every weekend off but when he is home he loves spending time with the kids. Mum, is also working full time hours during the week. Both kids attend school so you will have plenty of free time and every weekend off and a very generous access to a car. You zill e expected to work 30hrs per week.

George is 10, he is a pretty well behaved and adjusted boy with a caring temperament. He loves the outdoors. He is fairly easy going. He is in Year 5 and does very well at school. He also loves playing Rugby Union and goes to Scouts

Charlotte is 8, she has special needs: she is autistic (but very loving and sociable!), she is developmentally and speech delayed (but can make herself very well understood!). She requires very thorough supervision to keep her safe as she has no concept of danger and a very high pain threshold. She also requires more assistance than a typical child, like everyday life tasks that most of us take for granted like dressing, bathing etc… For example. She is still in nappies so you need to be ready to change her. Physically she is like any other little girl of her age but developmentally she is like a 3 years old. She is gifted in other areas like swimming to name one. Having a caring and patient nature is imperative to look after her as she is fairly busy and requires constant supervision as she has no concept of good and bad so she can do something wrong without realising it. It by no means mean she can do whatever she wants, we still try our best to treat and discipline her like a normal child. She also has no ideas of danger and a very high pain threshold. If you have a keen interest in special needs/ disabled children or a background in this field this job would be a perfect life experience. Charlotte goes to an Autism specific school during the week. Your job would mainly consist of caring for her. Both kids ride the horses.

You will be main the carer for Charlotte and before and after school for George while mum and dad are at work. We have a wide range of educational materials to keep the kids entertain. You will be expected to take the kids to their activities… Other duties would involve: you will not be expected to be the primary “house cleaner”, we have a lady coming in once a week but in our household everybody does its bits to contribute in keeping a house nice and clean. Mum is a bit of a “maniac” (actually a lot!) and has high expectations on having a neat house so I consequently do the most…. You will be required to keep the house in order while you are in it with the kids as you will be the one spending the most time at home. Duties includes: general tidiness of the house (and we all do the same when we are home) that includes vacuuming the floor (we have a robotic vacuum cleaner, so you just need to press the button!) if needs be and moping spills. Mum will guide you through what needs to be done especially at the beginning. I will require your help in some of the house chores: kid’s room tidy and clean (includes changing and washing their sheets). Keep your room tidy and clean. – putting washing on, put it on the line and fold them away; we do not iron! pack and unpack the dishwasher and set and unset the table with George help. have your turn at cooking a family dinner once a week and cook and feed the kids when mum and dad are at work. It is a requirement for this position that the au pair has basic cooking skills as we are food lover in this house and “packet” food is not a pantry item in our household.

The au pair will have every weekend off. We may require very occasionally you to mind the kids for mum and dad to have a “night off”. On your days off you will be free to do as you please. Church service available locally if you are religious. We would like an au pair with full licence as you will need to drive the kids around.

So what do you get on return? – Your own private bedroom with a queen size bed, large built-in, study desk, wifi access. You will share your bathroom with the kids – Free board, laundry, food. – Weekly pocket money.

Where ?
We live in Brandy Hill, a small countryside village, 40 min drive from Newcastle, 2.5hrs north of Sydney. We are located 10 min drive to Raymond Terrace (medium town), and 40min to Newcastle and last but not least 30min drive to beautiful beaches.

Our house is a hobby farm. It is a very spacious modern house surrounded by a large land where you can see wonderful fauna and flora : we see kangaroos every day in our garden. We have numerous animals chicken, ducks, and two horses so you need to be comfortable around them and ready to help out with feeding etc… This lifestyle would be more suitable to somebody comfortable living in the countryside. However, Raymond Terrace, the town near us has all modern comforts such as restaurants, a couple of shopping malls, cinema…

Selection criteria’s: – Non smoker – Female applicant only.
Colour of skin, sexual preference, religious views do not matter to us. – Tidy, organised person. – Experience with kids preferred and ability to look after a child with special need. – Full licence.

If you are interested please contact us to apply and / or to ask additional information.

https://www.aupairworld.com/en/aupair_detail?a=4188272

  This job vacancy was been posted over 40 days ago, but is still active and currently accepting new applications.

Login or Register to Apply Online

Not already a member? Register for free and create your online resume to apply. If you are already registered or have applied for a vacancy before, you can login below.

OMeley- Le Saint

Member since: August 2018

Industry:
Trades & Services