Register or Login to Apply

Free Food And Accommodation In Exchange For Light Work

Lush on Lurline Katoomba, New South Wales

Job Description

THANKS EVERYONE FOR SO MANY GREAT APPLICATIONS. I’M NOW LOOKING FOR PEOPLE ONLY AFTER 1 JULY 2020.

Dog, chicken and garden lovers! I need some daily help in KATOOMBA looking after a large garden, getting my dogs walked and looking after three sweet little chickens - Henrietta, Olive and Tikka (as in Chicken Tikka Masala).

In exchange you can stay for free in my beautiful home and have three daily vegetarian or vegan meals prepared for you.

If you like gardening, dog walking and caring for adorable chickens, please get in touch.

I also have a small (three-roomed) Airbnb apartment which needs cleaning after guests. Since the bushfires, we really have very few guests, so you'll be able to sleep in here most nights with your own TV, private deck and luxury ensuite bathroom. You'll find it on Airbnb. Just look for LUSH on Lurline. It takes about 30 minutes to clean.

Other sleeping options are a comfy sofa bed or glamping in a big tent under cover with glamswags and plenty of privacy, falling asleep to the sounds of frogs and possums and waking up to the birds each morning.

This is a cultural exchange opportunity - if you haven't seen kangaroos, I can take you to see wild ones nearby, or take you to the oldest caves in the world where you will see platypus, goannas, wallabies and kangaroos up close. We also go on trips to the local wineries and of course there are the amazing views, waterfalls and bush walks in and around Katoomba and throughout the Blue Mountains.

The house is 500 metres (ten minutes) from the iconic Three Sisters and close to all the best bush walks the mountains has to offer. Katoomba is a friendly, funky village with lots of interesting shops, cafes and art galleries - even a street art walk. There are excellent vegetarian and vegan cafes close by. The house is within walking distance of the train station (15-20 minutes) and is in a very picturesque street.

Feel free to use the spa, the awesome sound system and the fast, free internet. There's Netflix and Apple TV+.

If this appeals to you, please check out my profile and my 98 positive reviews on WorkAway, the work/cultural exchange site.
https://www.workaway.info/en/host/841473349375

I have had many backpackers stay here happily and some have come back two or three times. This current opportunity is available from mid-March until a previous backpacker returns from Scotland to stay with me again (probably in June or July).

About the dogs:
Oi is an old fellow, very undemanding and Hattie is exactly the opposite. She needs a strong but gentle person to give her a daily walk or good run twice a day. She is an absolutely adorable personality who will shake your hand and give you a high five and constantly demand pats and attention.

I need a handy person who can fix things that go wrong, is strong and fit and who can clean to a high standard. There's also a big garden. I grow lots of organic fruit and vegetables. You will be mucking out the chicken coop daily, getting the lovely ones out to free range, supervising their interactions with Oi and keeping them well away from Hattie! You'll also be maintaining the garden.
Hours are flexible (generally five hours a day, the same as WorkAway) and days off are structured around whether or not we have bnb guests. All public holidays are free time and if you need extra time off, as long as the work is done, I can be completely flexible.

You must be an easy going person, be happy to make a longer-term commitment and be prepared to leave your passport (or at least a photocopy) with me for security as I don't know you!

This is not for a second year visa work and if you are interested in contacting me, please don’t just send your CV, let me know a bit about yourself. I’ll need to know: if you’re a dog lover, if you’re strong enough to handle two big dogs, if you have experience in gardening, how long you can stay and if you’re happy not to eat meat while you’re here. Also neat clean and tidy are much appreciated values!

I'm happy if you want to find a part time job as long as it doesn't interfere with your daily tasks here, for example, part time gardening, hospitality or bar work would be okay.

  This job vacancy was been posted over 40 days ago, but is still active and currently accepting new applications.

Login or Register to Apply Online

Not already a member? Register for free and create your online resume to apply. If you are already registered or have applied for a vacancy before, you can login below.

Lush on Lurline

Member since: July 2019

Description:
Lush on Lurline
Small, three-room Airbnb to clean, two dogs to walk twice a day, chickens and a garden to dig around in.

Industry:
Hospitality, Travel & Tourism