Register or Login to Apply

Au Pair For Family Of 4

McFarlane Gisborne, Melbourne

Job Description

LOOKING FOR JULY/AUGUST Start!

We are a lovely little family of 4 who are looking for the perfect addition!

My husband and I are both pilots which means we can sometimes both be away at the same time and we need a lovely Au Pair to keep our children safe. Sometimes it means we are home a lot and that you can relax! We have two beautiful boys, Finn who is 5 and attends school 5 days a week and Arlo who is 2 years old and attends Montessori 3 mornings a week.

Jeff and I (Vic) would describe ourselves as easy going, thoughtful, empathetic and fun loving people who care a lot about their kids and each other. We met flying planes many years ago and share a passion for our work. We are also foodies – I usually cook. When I have time and motivation I love to put more effort in and you will find me out on the bbq slow cooking your lamb or carefully constructing a curry paste to cook all day. When we’re shorter on time we use meals from a nutritionist program that are delicious and well balanced. We all eat the same – nothing special for the kids – keeps it simple. We have enjoyed working with nannies in the past, they have always felt like part of the family.

We can provide a warm home with good food and good laughs, plenty of good wine too. We have a lot of space and the area we live in has easy access to Melbourne CBD as well as the beautiful Victorian countryside/bush.

We have lots of experience traveling the world. We lived for 4 years in Vietnam and we have family living in Phuket and visit Thailand whenever we can. We have travelled all over the world together (pre covid and Arlo!) including Japan, Korea, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, UK, USA, many places in Europe as well as South Africa and Tanzania! We miss travelling very much! We love learning about other cultures and we particularly love food from many cultures!

Our eldest son (5) is witty, funny and empathetic. He enjoys school and learning, he feels a special connection to Vietnam and Thailand and loves trying to learn new languages. He is very good at independent play and when he needs time to himself is usually found building lego, creating craft, reading or listening to his favourite audio book. He loves cycling, scooting and playgrounds, he will go with you on any adventure if you let him and if need be, he’ll lead the way. He cares very much for his younger brother he is the rule follower of the two. He loves his school work and will happily sit with you all evening learning and reading together. His favourite activity with others is board games, he is currently learning chess and would love to practice. He also really likes colouring and any kind of creative craft.

His younger brother (2 years) is a bubble of love. The cuddly one of the two, he is very trusting. Before you know it he’ll be on your lap with his favourite book or showing you his favourite car. Also developing a great skill in independent play he is curious, talks and sings a lot and is always full of giggles. He currently attends music, swimming and Montessori 3 mornings a week. He naps 2hrs in the middle of the day. He is very active and likes to make his voice known, he loves to be included and will be your sidekick if you let him. As a budding 2 year old, he is very good at throwing a tantrum and can need plenty of patience at times. He is much more physical than his brother and likes to run and jump throughout the day. At the moment he is very excited by trains and will happily build train tracks with you all afternoon. He really likes to get involved and ‘help’ with all the normal household activities like cooking or washing!

We live in Gisborne, a town a little under an hours drive from Melbourne CBD at the start of the Macedon Ranges. We are surrounded by beautiful bushland. You can walk into town from our home and access major supermarkets, clothing and gift shops, gyms, pharmacies, cafes and restaurants. It is a 50 minute drive into the Melbourne CBD however there is also a train line a 5 minute drive or 15 minute bicycle ride from our home.

Within our house we have 5 bedrooms. Your room has a double bed and plenty of storage space, we can get you a desk and chair for your study if you wish. Your bathroom would be shared with the kids. We have our own ensuite so would not need to crossover with your bathroom/toilet. We have large backyard and enjoy gardening, we grow a lot of our own vegetables! Our kitchen is large and has plenty of storage, we have a thermomix (which kind of works), oven, stovetop and bbq. We don’t have a TV but you have a large TV in your room to watch as you please, full access to internet and streaming services.

A typical day NEVER starts before 7am! We are not morning people, the coffee machine is set to automatic so we wake with the boys around 7:30am, have a few cuddles then enjoy a coffee and a lazy start. Finn goes to school just 5 minutes down the road and then we typically like to potter around the garden, enjoy a coffee locally or take Arlo for a swim at the local pool. Finn finishes at 3:20pm and we will usually play together for the afternoon before eating as a family at 6, followed by baths for the boys and stories before bed at 7pm. Routine for the boys is important to us and wherever possible we try and enjoy family time together.

Being honest with you though – there is no typical day, sometimes a Monday acts like a Sunday and a Sunday like a Thursday – we roll with the changes in shifts and trips all while trying to keep some consistency for two busy boys. We need someone willing to ride the flow of the day and remain flexible to unexpected changes but also someone willing to learn our routine and keep the house flowing while we come in and out.

To assist with this, we have really clear, simple rules and have honed excellent communication skills. We will assist you by training you to do everything you need and still allow you space to bring your own flair and develop your own personal relationship with the boys.

Sunday is our special day – we call it ‘PJ Sunday’ – if we’re all home it involves, PJs, cooked breakfast, lazy couch time with plenty of books and of course a Sunday roast with crispy potatoes, delicious veg and a choice of meat that changes weekly.

Tasks, schedule requirements and pocket money are open for discussion but the biggest and most important requirement of this job is flexibility! Unfortunately I myself do not have a roster so can be around or gone unexpectedly and often have trips turn from days to weeks.

Jeff does have a roster and this will build the backbone of yours but we need someone who can work with us as inevitably there are changes. It works both ways and we would do our best to be flexible with you too. We do however recognise it is important for you to have a life! We always schedule 2 days off a week where possible, often more and in the unlikely event that doesn’t happen, it’s made up for the following week. When we’re home your roster usually looks like the day to yourself followed by an afternoon shift or the day off completely. When we’re gone, its of course the sole care for the kids, the typical timeframes are 1-2 days but it may be 3-4 days at a time followed by several days off. You are of course compensated financially for every hour you care for them. We do our best to give you your freedom while of course plugging our childcare needs!

You should expect to do at least the following:

- Sole childcare of the kids including overnight when we are both away which can happen on a weekly basis or sometimes not at all for a month. It is really important you feel comfortable with this as it can happen at least once a week and is they key reason we need an au pair – Cooking for the kids (I usually cook for everyone when I’m home but you need to feel confident to cook when we are not home) – Tidying of kids rooms and play spaces (we have a fortnightly cleaner) but picking up and organising toys on a daily basis when working. – Kids laundry – roughly a load a week to help churn through school uniforms. – Drive the children to activities and school

Pocket money starts at $300 for 30hrs with opportunities to earn up to $1300pw on occasion if we are both away. ** If you are keen to earn extra money we have close friends who live within walking distance and have 2 boys (2 and 4) who would be happy to offer you extra hours around our shifts.

We can roster the days you will work a month in advance and then if I am home we can knock down your hours closer to the day so you can get a balance. It is easier to explain in person!

We are looking for someone who really loves and enjoys spending time with the kids and working to bond with them. It can be hard on them when we are away and we need a loving soul who wishes to care for them with compassion and kindness. Childcare experience with 2/3 year olds is highly desirable.

Our goal is to find someone to join us as part of the family! The most important part of this job is flexibility, there can often be changes but we work hard to try and keep everyone happy.

We’ve worked with nannies and au pairs for over 5 years now and we really enjoy the dynamic, as do the kids. We hope you will find a warm and loving home with us.

Postcode: 3437 (Gisborne, Melbourne)

Not a backpacker? That's ok. We accept applications from Australian citizens, permanent residents, international students as well as working holiday visa holders. If you are qualified for this position, please register and apply via the form below.

Login or Register to Apply Online

Not already a member? Register for free and create your online resume to apply. If you are already registered or have applied for a vacancy before, you can login below.

McFarlane

Member since: June 2022