Register or Login to Apply

Au Pair (live In)

The Hall Family Brisbane

Job Description

Hi

Are you interested in being our next Au Pair?

I have tried to include as much information as possible for the Au Pair position that we currently have available. I apologise in advance if this seems huge and an extensive read.

We are a family of 5 living in Everton Park, north Brisbane. Our children are aged 2 (turning 3 in September - girl), 4 (turning 5 in January - boy) and 9 (turning 10 in October - girl).

The position is working 5 days per week.

We have had experience with Au Pairs in the past and are now looking for another for a period of 3 months minimum.

Your day will start at 8.00am to prepare breakfast and lunch for the
children, drop them off at school between 8-8:30am and then pick them up
again between 2:30-3:00pm. Your day will finish when we get home at
5.00pm. Our youngest will be home 4 days a week.

If I don't get home from uni until 6pm one day, then we always balance
that out by giving you a later start / more time off. I attend University Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. My husband and I will help with getting the kids ready for school / breakfast as much as possible

I don't go to uni on Thursdays or Fridays.

Will the au pair be required to drive? Yes (an automatic vehicle is supplied)
Will you require the au pair to help with light housework? Yes
Do you mind if the au pair smokes? Yes
Have you had an au pair before? Yes
The au pair is required to care for disabled children? No

My husband works as a Geologist and I am at University full time,
studying to be a teacher (majoring in teaching English as Second Language - ESL and English - Secondary).

We have 1 dog (an old Rottweiler who sleeps and lives outside) and 6
hens for laying eggs. We live on a large block but are only about 20 minutes from the Brisbane CBD.

We have BBQs every now and then. We don't have much family in Brisbane
but we have a small group of close friends that are like family and you
will get the chance to meet and socialise with them at BBQs etc if you
like. We try to include our au pairs in as many family activities as they want to be involved with (birthdays, dinners, BBQs etc) in order to give them a fulfilled, meaningful Australian cultural experience.

I work weekends occassionally. You will have 2 days off per week. The days off that you get will rotate - depending on what days / weekends I have to work.

We are looking for someone to stay for 3 months approximately. We are
realistic in understanding that you have travelled a long way to
Australia and only have a Visa for a certain time. Australia is a big
country and you won't want to spend all your time just in Brisbane.

Vegetarians / Pescetarians are not able to be catered for sorry.

Once or twice a month we give you money to take the 2 little kids to a
nearby indoor play centre (we also buy your coffee or lunch for this
outing).

We also provide you with money to do craft activities with the kids / go
to the discount store and buy materials to do painting, drawing and
other activities with the kids.

We will require some light housekeeping such as doing the kids laundry,
vacuuming, emptying the dishwasher sometimes, wiping the benches down
and basic meal preparation for the kids. If you can cook a meal one or 2
nights a week for the family that's a bonus.You are welcome to meet up with other au pairs for play dates if you want.

The kids love to help the au pairs bake biscuits, brownies, cupcakes or muffins. They also enjoy the play centre and going on the train to Southbank.

The position gives an allowance of $230 AUD per week.

A bonus is awarded at the end if your room is left clean and tidy and you stay for a minimum of 3 months. On the weekends you are welcome to join us as we do much weekend travel camping and boating. You are always welcome to come along. During the week you are mainly just looking after the 2.5 yr old. On Mondays and Tuesdays you will be required to look after the 4 year old as well (but sometimes he goes to his Grandmother's house).

You will have your own room with a Queen Bed, TV / DVD player, unlimited wireless / internet, shared bathroom (with the kids) and use of an automatic car during the day. You can eat whatever you want (we are big eaters) - just put it on the grocery list and it's bought for you. You may also have the opportunity to buy the groceries and one of us parents stays home with the kids.

If we go away on holidays we will always invite you with us. When time permits (usually when I am on Uni holidays) we go camping / take a trip away - the au pair is always welcome to come with us. My husband has a boat and likes to go fishing with the kids sometimes. You will be welcome to go fishing as well if you like.

Sometimes we will pay for you and the kids to go to the Zoo or do another special activity like that.

You can use the car (within reason) for personal use when you are not working (to go and visit friends, go to the movies etc). We are very close to a bus stop as well. You need to be able to confidently drive an automatic vehicle.

There is the opportunity to earn extra cash money by working alongside me in the coffee caravan (selling coffee at markets on weekends). This is dependent on childcare availability (if my husband can look after the kids that weekend).

For more information or to discuss a possible interview time, please email: vanessahall82@gmail.com or phone 0428 860 919.

  This job vacancy was been posted over 40 days ago, but is still active and currently accepting new applications.

Login or Register to Apply Online

Not already a member? Register for free and create your online resume to apply. If you are already registered or have applied for a vacancy before, you can login below.

Member since: March 2012